Project Description


Titanic opened on Broadway at the Lunt-Fontanne Theatre on April 23rd 1997 and played through March 21st, 1999.  Story and book by Peter Stone; Music & Lyrics by Maury Yeston.  Produced by Dodger Endemol Theatricals, Richard S. Pechter and The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts.    Directed by Richard Jones; Choreographed by Lynne Taylor-Corbett; Action Movement Coordinator: Rick Sordelet, Scenic and Costume Design by Stewart Laing; Lighting Design by Paul Gallo; Sound Design by Steve Canyon Kennedy and Wig Design by Ray Marston.  Starring Adam Alexi-Malle, Becky Ann Baker, Matthew Bennett, Judith Blazer, John Bolton, Bill Buell, Michael Cerveris, Victoria Clark, Mindy Cooper, Allan Corduner, David Costabile, Alma Cuervo, John Cunningham, Brian d’Arcy James, Lisa Datz, David Elder, David Garrison, Jody Gelb, Kimberly Hester, Erin Hill, Robin Irwin, Larry Keith, Joseph Kolinski, Charles McAteer, Theresa McCarthy, Martin Moran, Michael Mulheren, Stephanie Park, Jennifer Piech, Michele Ragusa, Ted Sperling, Mara Stephens, Don Stephenson, Henry Stram, Andy Taylor, Clarke Thorell and William Youmans.

Over 6 months prior to the show opening, I curated the world’s largest historical archive and library of Titanic information from different sources including museums in Southampton, UK, Halifax, Nova Scotia and others, in compiling a comprehensive database of all passenger detail (from immigration records and passenger manifests) and ships crew (from White Star Line manifests) along with transcribing the complete cargo hold provisions and food orders.  Each character in the musical was mapped to the original real life person to assist character development.  Further, curated new articles sources and images from libraries of the New York Times, The Times of London, The Washington Post and other sources in Canada and the UK as company background and marketing support.   The database and scanned image collection was so comprehensive that the forthcoming Titanic film (directed by James Cameron) 20th Century Fox producers asked permission to use.

As Founder and CEO of and  The pioneer in moving the Broadway industry onto the internet.  What started in 1989 as a service called ShowCall via dialup BBS for members of the League of American Theatre Producers evolved onto the world wide web in 1993, and shortly after this,  the vast majority of Broadway shows (starting with Victor/Victoria) and theatrical organizations followed.


Titanic infographic