Project Description

Swing (Broadway)

Swing! (Broadway)

The dance review SWING! opened at the St. James Theatre on Broadway on December 9, 1999 and closed on January 14, 2001 after 43 previews and 461 performances.

Produced by Marc Routh, Richard Frankel, Steven Baruch, Thomas ViertelLorie Cowen Levy, Stanley Shopkorn and Jujamcyn Theaters (James H. Binger: Chairman; Rocco Landesman: President; Paul Libin: Producing Director; Jack Viertel: Creative Director); Produced in association with BB Promotion, Dede Harris, Jeslo Productions, Libby Adler Mages, Mari Glick, Douglas L. Meyer, James D. Stern, PACE Theatrical Group, Inc.and SFX Entertainment, Inc.; Associate Producer: TV Asahi, Hankyu Group, Mars Theatrical Productions and Judith Marinoff

Conceived by Paul Kelly; Directed & Choreographed by Lynne Taylor-Corbett; Production Supervised by Jerry Zaks; Scenic Design by Thomas Lynch; Costume Design by William Ivey Long; Lighting Design by Kenneth Posner; Sound Design by Peter Fitzgerald; Music orchestrated by Harold Wheeler; Musical Director: Jonathan Smith; Music arranged by Everett Bradley, Ann Hampton Callaway, Jon C. Cowherd, Yaron Gershovsky, Ian Herman, Casey MacGill, Michael Rafter, Jonathan Smith and Jeanine Tesori.

Starring Laureen Baldovi, Laura Benanti, Kristine Bendul, Carol Bentley, Everett Bradley, Ann Hampton Callaway, Caitlin Carter, Geralyn Del Corso, Desirée Duarte, Beverly Durand, Erin East, Scott Fowler, Ryan Francois, Kevin Michael Gaudin, Edgar Godineaux, Aldrin Gonzalez, Michael Gruber, Janine LaManna, Keith LaMelle Thomas, Casey MacGill, Rod McCune, C. Montgomery, Arte Phillips, Robert Royston, Carlos Sierra-López, Jenny Thomas and Maria Torres.

Swings: Kristine Bendul, Desirée Duarte, Erin East, Kevin Michael Gaudin and Rod McCune.

Standby: Janine LaManna, J. C. Montgomery and Arte Phillips.

Replacement Cast: Quinn M. Bass, Jeb Bounds, Sarah Jane Nelson, Erik Robison, Jennifer Shrader, Sylvia Skylar, Dana Solimando.

Replacement Swings: Mark Arvin, Stacia Fernandez, Rachel Lafer, Lorin Latarro, Holly Raye, Jermaine R. Rembert, Jonathan Stahl and Derrick Williams.

Associate Choreographer: Ryan Francois, Scott Fowler and Rod McCune; Assistant Lighting Design: Jeff Nellis and Michael Jones; Associate Costume Design: Jennifer Arnold and Christine Field; Assistant Costume Design: Robert J. Martin and Melissa Schlachtmeyer; Associate Sound Design: Janet Smith; Associate Lighting Design: Martin Vreeland.

General Manager: Richard Frankel Productions and Joe Watson; Company Manager: Kim Sellon

Production Manager: Peter Fulbright; Production Stage Manager: Karen Armstrong; Stage Manager: Tripp Phillips; Assistant Stage Manager: Donna A. Drake later replaced by John Hunter; Technical Supervisor: Tech Production Services, Inc., Elliot Bertoni & Eric Hansen and Aerial Flying by Antigravity, Inc.

Casting: Carol Hanzel & Associates; West Coast Casting Director: Pamela Cooper; Casting Consultant: Johnson-Liff Associates; Press Representative: Helene Davis Publicity; Dance Captain: Rod McCune; Advertising: Serino Coyne, Inc.; Marketing: TMG Marketing & Publicity and The Walton Group; Online Marketing by Toby Simkin / BuyBroadway Online Inc.; Rehearsal Assistant to Mr. Zaks: Marc Bruni; Promotions: Keith Hurd.

Musical Supervisor: Michael Rafter; Musical Coordinator: John Miller; Band: The Gotham City Gates; Conducted by Jonathan Smith; Associate Conductor: Douglas Oberhamer; Piano/Keyboard: Jonathan Smith; Guitars: Dan Hovey; Bass: Conrad Korsch; Drums/Percussion: Scott Neumann; Woodwinds: Matt Hong; Trumpet: Douglas Oberhamer; Trombone: Steve Armour; Music Preparation: Emily Grishman Music Preparation

Featuring songs by Duke Ellington (“It Don’t Mean A Thing…,” “Jersey Bounce,” “Hit Me With a Hot Note…,” “Bli-Blip,” “Caravan” and “Dancers in Love” ), Irving Mills (“It Don’t Mean A Thing…” ), Benny Goodman (“Air Mail Special” and “Stompin’ at the Savoy”), James R. Mundy (“Air Mail Special”), Charles Christian (“Air Mail Special”), B. Plater (“Jersey Bounce”), T. Bradshaw (“Jersey Bounce”), B. Feyhe (“Jersey Bounce”), Don George (“Opus One” and “Hit Me With a Hot Note…”), Johnny Hodges (“Opus One”), Harry James (“Opus One”), Count Basie (“Jumpin’ at the Woodside” and “Shout and Feel It” ), Don Raye (“Bounce Me Brother…” and “Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy” ), Hughie Prince (“Bounce Me Brother…” and “Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy” ), Ann Hampton Callaway (“Two and Four”), Casey MacGill (“Rhythm,” “Kitchen Mechanics’ Night Out” and “I’m Gonna Love You Tonight”), Everett Bradley(“Throw That Girl Around” and “Show Me What You Got”), Ilene Reid (“Throw That Girl Around” ), Jonathan Smith(“Show Me What You Got,” “Kitchen Mechanics’ Night Out” and “Boogie Woogie Country”), Sid Kuller (“Bli-Blip”),Hoagy Carmichael (“Billy-A-Dick”), Paul Francis Webster (“Billy-A-Dick”), Earl Hagen (“Harlem Nocturne”), Lynne Taylor-Corbett (“Kitchen Mechanics’ Night Out”), Paul Kelly (“Kitchen Mechanics’ Night Out”), Johnny Mercer (“GI Jive” and “Blues in the Night”), Edgar DeLange (“A String of Pearls”), Jerry Gray (“A String of Pearls”), Mack Gordon (“I’ve Got a Girl in Kalamazoo”), Harry Warren (“I’ve Got a Girl in Kalamazoo”), Mack David(“Candy”), Joan Whitney (“Candy”), Alex J. Kramer (“Candy”), Jack Murphy (“I’m Gonna Love You Tonight” and “Boogie Woogie Country”), Sammy Fain (“I’ll Be Seeing You”), Irving Kahal (“I’ll Be Seeing You”), Joe Garland (“In the Mood”), Lew Brown (“Don’t Sit Under the Apple Tree”), Sam H. Stept (“Don’t Sit Under the Apple Tree”), Charlie Tobias (“Don’t Sit Under the Apple Tree”), Walter Bishop (“Swing, Brother, Swing”), Lewis Raymond (“Swing, Brother, Swing”), Clarence Williams (“Swing, Brother, Swing”), Juan Tizol (“Caravan”), Arthur Hamilton (“Cry Me A River”), Harold Arlen (“Blues in the Night”), Bob Wills (“Take Me Back to Tulsa” and “Stay a Little Longer”), Tommy Duncan (“Take Me Back to Tulsa” and “Stay a Little Longer”), Seymour Simons (“All of Me”), Gerald Marks(“All of Me”), Dorothy Fields (“I Won’t Dance”), Otto A. Harbach (“I Won’t Dance”), Jimmy McHugh (“I Won’t Dance”), Jerome Kern (“I Won’t Dance”), Oscar Hammerstein II (“I Won’t Dance”), Bill Elliott (“Bill’s Bounce”), Edgar Sampson (“Stompin’ at the Savoy”), Chick Webb (“Stompin’ at the Savoy”), Andy Razaf (“Stompin’ at the Savoy”), Michael Heitzman, E. Johnson, Louis Prima and Leon Berry; Additional lyrics by Ann Hampton Callaway (“Bli-Blip,” “All of Me,” “I Won’t Dance” and “Stompin’ at the Savoy” ), Seán Martin Hingston (“Billy-A-Dick”) and Lynne Taylor-Corbett (“I’m Gonna Love You Tonight”)

As Founder and CEO of and  The pioneer in moving the Broadway industry onto the internet. Press branded me as “Toby is the man pushing theatre, kicking and screaming, into cyberspace.”