Project Description

Seussical (Broadway) [Poster]

Seussical (Broadway & Tour)

SEUSSICAL with book by Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty, music by Stephen Flaherty and lyrics by Lynn Ahrens opened on Broadway at the Richard Rodgers Theatre on Nov 30, 2000 and closed on May 20, 2001 after 34 previews and 198 performances. Conceived by Lynn Ahrens, Stephen Flaherty and Eric Idle; Based on the works of Dr. Seuss.  With a total gross of $12,927,734 from 228,686 patrons.

Produced by SFX Theatrical Group, Barry & Fran Weissler and Universal Studios; Produced in association with Kardana-Swinsky Productions, Hal Luftig and Michael Watt. Executive Producer: Gary Gunas and Alecia Parker.

Uncredited direction by Rob Marshall later directed by Frank Galati; Choreographed by Kathleen Marshall; Musical Direction by David Holcenberg; Scenic Design by Eugene Lee & Tony Walton; Costume Design by William Ivey Long; Lighting Design by Natasha Katz; Sound Design by Jonathan Deans and Hair & Wig Design by Paul Huntley; Music orchestrated by Doug Besterman; Dance arrangements by David Chase and Vocal arrangements by Stephen Flaherty

Starring Kevin Chamberlin (Horton the Elephant), Anthony Blair Hall (JoJo), Janine LaManna (Gertrude McFuzz), Michele Pawk (Mayzie LaBird), David Shiner (The Cat in the Hat: until March 11, 2001), Eric Devine (General Genghis Kahn Schmitz / Ensemble), Eddie Korbich (Grandpa Who / Ensemble), Alice Playten (Mrs. Mayor), Sharon Wilkins (Sour Kangaroo), Stuart Zagnit (The Mayor of Whoville), Joyce Chittick (Cat’s Helper / Ensemble), Jennifer Cody (Cat’s Helper / Ensemble), Natascia A. Díaz (Bird Girl / Ensemble), David Engel (Wickersham Brother / Ensemble), Sara Gettelfinger (Bird Girl / Ensemble), Justin Greer (Cat’s Helper / Ensemble), Ann Harada (Marshal of the Court / Ensemble), Catrice Joseph (Bird Girl / Ensemble), Andrew Keenan-Bolger (JoJo / Alternate), Mary Ann Lamb (Cat’s Helper / Ensemble), Darren Lee (Cat’s Helper / Vlad Vladikoff / Ensemble), Monique L. Midgette (Grandma Who / Ensemble), Casey Nicholaw (Ensemble), Tom Plotkin (Wickersham Brother / Ensemble), Devin Richards (Judge Yertle the Turtle / Ensemble), William Ryall (The Grinch / Ensemble), Jerome Vivona (Cat’s Helper / Ensemble), Sharon Wilkins(Ensemble) and Eric Jordan Young (Wickersham Brother / Ensemble)

Swings: Shaun Amyot, Jenny Hill, Michelle Kittrell and David Lowenstein

Standby: Bryan Batt (The Cat in the Hat)

Understudies: Shaun Amyot (Wickersham Brother, Cat’s Helper, Vlad Vladikoff), Sara Gettelfinger (Mayzie LaBird), Ann Harada (Mrs. Mayor), Jenny Hill (Gertrude McFuzz, Bird Girl, Cat’s Helper, Marshal of the Court), Catrice Joseph (Sour Kangaroo), Michelle Kittrell (Bird Girl, Cat’s Helper), David Lowenstein (Wickersham Brother, Cat’s Helper, The Grinch, Judge Yertle the Turtle), Monique Midgette (Sour Kangaroo), Casey Nicholaw (Horton the Elephant, The Mayor of Whoville), William Ryall (General Genghis Kahn Schmitz) and Eric Jordan Young (The Cat in the Hat)

Associate Director: Stafford Arima; Associate Choreographer: Robert Ashford and Joey Pizzi; Associate Scenic Design: Larry Gruber; Assistant Scenic Design: N. Joseph DeTullio; Associate Costume Design: Scott Traugott; Assistant Costume Design: Catherine Carroll, Cory Ching and Patrick Wiley; Assistant Lighting Design: Jeffrey Whitsett and Daniel Walker; Assistant to Mr. Long: Brian Russman and SeoHee Hong; Assistant to the Lighting Designer: Richard Swan

General Manager: Alan Wasser Associates; Company Manager: Lizbeth Cone later replaced by Thomas Schlenk

Scenic Design Coordinator: Larry Gruber; Production Supervisor: Bonnie Panson; Production Manager: Juniper Street Productions, John H. Paull, III and Hillary Blanken; Stage Manager: Andrew Fenton and Joshua Halperin later replaced by Kenneth McGee.

Casting: Jay Binder and Sherry Dayton; Online Marketing by Toby Simkin / Inc.; Press Representative: Barlow-Hartman Public Relations; Dance Supervisor: Joyce Chittick

Musical Coordinator: John Miller; Conducted by David Holcenberg; Associate Conductor: Steve Marzullo; Concertmistress: Naomi Katz; Violin: Karl Kawahara; Viola: Maxine Roach; Cello: Stephanie Cummins; Woodwind: Paul Sundfor, Dan Willis and John Winder; Trumpet: Brian O’Flaherty and John Reid; Trombone: Larry Farrell; Guitar: Jeffrey Lee Campbell and Jack Cavari; Electric Bass: Francisco Centeno; Drums: Warren Odze; Percussion: Charles Descarfino; Keyboard: Steve Marzullo and Philip Fortenberry; Music Preparation: Emily Grishman Music Preparation

Replacement cast included: Aaron Carter (JoJo: Mar 30, 2001 – May 13, 2001), Rosie O’Donnell (During David Shiner’s vacation as The Cat in the Hat: Jan 16, 2001 – Feb 10, 2001), Cathy Rigby (The Cat in the Hat: Mar 15, 2001 – May 20, 2001), Cameron Bowen (JoJo: Dec 2000 – May 20, 2001), Michael J. Farina (Grandpa Who / Ensemble: Feb 2001 – May 20, 2001)

Replacement Understudies: Shaun Amyot (Judge Yertle the Turtle), Joyce Chittick (Mayzie LaBird), Michael J. Farina (Horton the Elephant), Ann Harada (Gertrude McFuzz), Michelle Kittrell (Marshal of the Court) and David Lowenstein (General Genghis Kahn Schmitz)

National Tour

A national tour produced by WhoCo, LLC;  in association with McCoy Rigby Entertainment (Tom McCoy); Associate Producer: Kary M. Walker commenced in September 2002, with largely an all new production:

Directed by Christopher Ashley; Choreographed by Patti Colombo and John Charron; Associate Director: Michael Barakiva; Musical Director: John Mezzio; Scenic Design by James Kronzer; Costume Design by David C. Woolard; Lighting Design by Howell Binkley; Sound Design