Project Description

Gypsy (QTC Brisbane) [Poster]

QTC The Queensland Theatre Company

The Queensland Theatre Company

Gypsy with music by Jule Styne, book by Arthur Laurents & lyrics by Stephen Sondheim from March 7 to 29, 1980, at the S.G.I.O. Theatre, Brisbane, for the Queensland Theatre Company.

Director John Krummel; Choreographer Jack Webster; Musical Director Brian Stacey; Designer Stephen Gow; Lighting Designer Derek Campbell; Stage Manager Ellen Kennedy; Assistant Stage Managers: Colin Wilson & Jamie Henson; Assistant to the Director Peter Duncan and Repetiteur Phil Robertson.

STARRING June Salter (Rose); Julieanne Newbould (Louise); Tereska Harbottle (Baby Louise); Suzanne Roylance (June); Susan Walsh (Baby June); Don Barker (Uncle Jocko / Herbie); Rodney Horton (George / Press Agent); David Atkins (Tulsa); Hazel Phillips (Electra); Lynne Porteous (Miss Cratchitt / Tessie Tura); Lyn Treadgold (Mazeppa / Maid); Grant Adams (Clarence / Newsboy); William Burke (Newsboy); Reginald Cameron (PA / Bourgeron-Cochon); David Clendinning (Kringelein / Cigar); Terry Walduck (Boy); Gary Hodgson (Boy); Peter Lowrey (Boy); Ken Kennett (Weber / Mr Goldstone / Patsey); Rohan McKenna (Newsboy); Kate Richter (Hollywood Blonde); Dale Murison (Hollywood Blonde); Fiona Murphy (Hollywood Blonde); Jamie Henson (Mr Granzinger) and Susan Wilkinson (Balloon Girl).

Musicians included Robert Clark (Percussion).

Understudies included: Kate Richter (female parts) and unofficially, Lynne Porteous was “unofficial” understudy for Rose, who had previously done the show for Williamsons and went on a few times, and Alan Edwards covered the role of Mr. Goldstone at least once.

With my QTC Guild involvement, I was a general production assistant, mainly looking after John Krummels F&B needs through rehearsals and general production assistant for Ellen (Lenny) Kennedy and Stage Management through performances after an historic opening.

And for the Queensland Theatre Company:
(collectively over my tenure)

Executive Staff: Alan Edwards, AM MBE (Founding Artistic Director); Peter Duncan* / Gregory Gesch* (Assistant Director); Arthur Frame AM (Production Manager); Gillian Coar (Executive Officer); Christine WalshKen Kennett OAM (Public Relations & Publicity Officer); June Craw (Finance and Business Officer); Lewis Savage (Subscriptions Officer); Yvette (Capt) O’BrienHelen Mayes (Clerical Assistant); Lloyd Nickson (Director, Theatre in Education); Richard Magnus (Fundraising Chairman); Diane Leith (Administration) and Susan BonningJennie Lewis (Receptionist).

Production Staff: Graham MacleanJames Ridewood (Resident Designer); Bill ShannonBeverley Hill (Design Assistant); Caroline Gyucha (Scenic Artist); James Henson (Lighting Designer); David Lees (Electrician); Michael WormaldGary CameronPaul ParkinsonDavid Palm (Properties); Howard Steele (Head Carpenter); Des Dougan / Peter Vosiliunas (Carpenter); Cornelis Boogaart* (Apprentice Carpenter); Marie Perry-WatsonLexi WrightJay Mansfield-Askew / Cynthia Bowen (Wardrobe Supervisor); Ken Bushby / Thelma Cope / Meredith Fogg / Margaret ReevesDanny Healy / Arlie McGill / Anne Long / Kerry Yates (Wardrobe); Ellen Kennedy / David McCrudden / Kit Oldfield / Patrick Whelan / Kristin Reuter / Jan Levi / Victor Ashelford / Colin Wilson / Barry Melville / Toby Simkin / Brian Barnes / Vito Arena / Peter Reeve± / Sussanne Humphries / Julianne White (Stage Management); Vicki BirchYvette (Capt) O’Brien (Production Secretary); Dawn Grieg (Wardrobe Hire) and Derrick George (Photographer).

Representation: Yolande BirdDiana Franklin (London Representative); Michael Menzies (New York Representative) and John Krummel (Sydney Casting & Repertoire Consultant).

S.G.I.O. Theatre Staff: Jim Wright (Manager); Alban RileyDon Fergusson (Assistant Manager); Peter PetrovichRay Calcutt (Head Mechanist); Patrick (Paddy) Teuma (Head Electrician) and Dallas Black / Kay Fifas (Booking Office)

Albert Park Theatre Staff: Wayne McKenna (House Manager); Margo Morris (Box Office)

Associate Artists: Bille Brown AM; Carol Burns; Reginald CameronIvar Kants; Joe MacColum; Warren Mitchell; James Ridewood, Cliff Simcox; Babette Stephens, MBE and Geraldine Turner OAM.

QTC Guild: Magda Wollner (Coordinator); Alice BeacroftJoan Chamberlain, Bobbie Glyn Evans, Maureen Fallon, Sonja FarmerBeryl Foote, Neil FulwoodDolores Garland, Elaine Heath, Edna HeathwoodMargaret Hill, Ena Huppert, June Jamieson, Eva Klug, Irene Lefman, Patrick Mellick, Hillary MostenMaureen Mortensen, Barbara Nielsen, Joyce Nixon Smith, Gloria Phillips, Vivienne Reddy, Marea Reed, Melina Reed, Margaret Robinson, Grace Reynolds, June Sheedy, Ann Shevill, Toby SimkinSybil Simpson, Elaine SkinnerAnne Smith and Jess Yeowart (Volunteers)

* Salaries were assisted by a special grant from the Theatre Board of the Australia Council, a statutory body of the Commonwealth Government.
± Services were provided by the National Institute of Dramatic Art.
^ Services were provided courtesy of the Queensland Theatre Orchestra

The Queensland Theatre Company acknowledged the financial assistance of the Queensland State Government and the Commonwealth Government through the Theatre Board of the Australia Council without which the continued operation of the Company would not have been possible.
The Queensland Theatre Company was a founding member of CAPPA (Confederation of Australia Professional Performing Arts)