Drama Desk Awards 2000 New York Poster

Drama Desk Awards (2000 New York)

Sponsor and online marketing for the Drama Desk Awards at the LaGuardia High School of the Arts (the Fame School) in New York on May 14, 2000.

The Drama Desk organization was formed in 1949 by a group of New York theater critics, editors, reporters and publishers, in order to make the public aware of the vital issues concerning the theatrical industry. They debuted the presentations of the Vernon Rice Awards in 1955.

The name honors the New York Post critic Vernon Rice, who had pioneered Off-Broadway coverage in the New York press.

The name was changed for the 1963–1964 awards season to the Drama Desk Awards. Broadway productions were included beginning with the 1968–69 award season. The awards are considered a significant American theater distinction.

The Drama Desk has more than 100 members, including theatre critics, reporters and editors who cover New York theater and vote on the awards.

The Drama Desk AwardsThe 2000 Drama Desk Awards recipients:

Outstanding Play Copenhagen
Outstanding Musical Contact
Outstanding Musical Revival Kiss Me, Kate
Outstanding Play Revival The Real Thing
Outstanding One-Person Show Barry Humphries, Dame Edna: The Royal Tour
Unique Theatrical Experience Charlie Victor Romeo
Best Actor in a Play Stephen Dillane, The Real Thing
Best Actress in a Play Eileen Heckart, The Waverly Gallery
Best Featured Actor in a Play Roy Dotrice, A Moon for the Misbegotten
Best Featured Actress in a Play Marylouise Burke, Fuddy Meers
Best Actor in a Musical Brian Stokes Mitchell, Kiss Me, Kate
Best Actress in a Musical Heather Headley, Aida
Best Featured Actor in a Musical Stephen Spinella, The Dead
Best Featured Actress in a Musical Karen Ziemba, Contact
Best Director of a Play Michael Blakemore, Copenhagen
Best Director of a Musical Michael Blakemore, Kiss Me, Kate
Best Choreography Susan Stroman, Contact
Best Music Andrew Lippa, The Wild Party—MTC
Best Lyrics Stephen Sondheim, Saturday Night
Outstanding Orchestrations Don Sebesky, Kiss Me, Kate
Outstanding Set Design of a Play David Gallo, Jitney
Outstanding Set Design of a Musical Robin Wagner, Kiss Me, Kate
Special Awards Alexander H. Cohen—Lifelong commitment to excellence in theatre
Barnard Hughes and Helen Stenborg—Shared Lifetime Achievement
Cast of Jitney—Outstanding Ensemble Performance
Drama Desk Awards 2000 New York Program

The Broadway theatre supersite Buy Broadway OnlineAs Founder and CEO of Theatre.com and BuyBroadway.com.  The pioneer in moving the Broadway industry onto the internet. The theatre press branded me as “Toby is the man pushing theatre, kicking and screaming, into cyberspace.” What started in 1989 as a Broadway industry service called ShowCall via dialup BBS for members of the League of American Theatre Producers evolved onto the world wide web in the early 90’s, and shortly after this, the vast majority of Broadway shows (starting with my production of Victor/Victoria) and theatrical organizations followed. The “Super site of Broadway” became a publicly traded company, prior to my re-branding it as Theatre.com at the Minskoff Theatre.

The global theater supersite theatre.comDescribed by Variety Magazine as a “marketing powerhouse“, it was the single largest theatre community in the world with over 180,000 active members (in the 1990’s this was massive). From buying official Broadway tickets and souvenirs, providing detailed global show listings, interactive show study & educational guides, live streaming shows and events (including many Opening Nights live broadcasts), industry news from major theatre journalists, pictures and videos, games, messaging directly to Broadway cast’s backstage or even licensing a musical, theatre.com offered it all in a single, easy-to-use interface to theatregoers globally.

~ + ★ ☆ {:-)-:}   + ~

TobySimkin.com | Gaylivanting.com | TheatreInChina.com
Biography | Portfolio | Blog | Consulting | Theatre History | Contact
Facebook #PreservingHistory1ShowAtATime