Project Description

Beauty and the Beast (Broadway)

Beauty and the Beast (Broadway)

BEAUTY AND THE BEAST with book by Linda Woolverton music by Alan Menken lyrics by Howard Ashman and Tim Rice opened on Broadway at the Palace Theatre on April 18, 1994, to temporality close on September 5, 1999 in order to transfer to the Lunt-Fontanne Theatre to re-open on November 12, 1999 and closed on July 29, 2007 after 46previews and 5,462 performances.

Produced by Walt Disney Productions (President, Walt Disney Theatrical Productions: Ron Logan; Vice President and Producer, Walt Disney Theatrical Productions: Robert McTyre); Associate Producer: Donald Frantz replaced by Tony McLean and Pam Young, and at the Lunt-Fontanne later replaced again by Ken Silverman and Mark Rozzano.

Directed by Robert Jess Roth; Choreographed by Matt West; Assistant Choreographer: Dan Mojica; Scenic Design by Stan Meyer; Costume Design by Ann Hould-Ward; Lighting Design by Natasha Katz; Sound Design by T. Richard Fitzgerald; Hair Design by David H. Lawrence; Prosthetics by John Dods; Dance arrangements by Glen Kelly; Music orchestrated by Danny Troob; Vocal arrangements by David Friedman; Musical Director: Michael Kosarin; Incidental music arranged by Michael Kosarin; Additional orchestrations: Michael Starobin and Replacement Additional Orchestrations: Ned Ginsburg

Starring Susan Egan (Belle), Terrence Mann (Beast), Joan Barber (Townsperson, Enchanted Object), Roxane Barlow (Townsperson, Enchanted Object), Gary Beach (Lumiere), Harrison Beal (Young Prince / Townsperson, Enchanted Object), Tom Bosley (Maurice), Michael-Demby Cain (Townsperson, Enchanted Object), Kate Dowe (Townsperson, Enchanted Object), David Elder (Townsperson, Enchanted Object), Merwin Foard (Townsperson, Enchanted Object), Beth Fowler (Mrs. Potts), Gregory Garrison (Townsperson, Enchanted Object), Eleanor Glockner (Madame de la Grande Bouche), Jack Hayes (Townsperson, Enchanted Object), Kim Huber (Townsperson, Enchanted Object), Elmore James (Townsperson, Enchanted Object), Heath Lamberts (Cogsworth), Stacey Logan (Babette), Rob Lorey (Townsperson, Enchanted Object), Patrick Loy (Townsperson, Enchanted Object), Barbara Marineau (Townsperson, Enchanted Object), Joanne McHugh (Townsperson, Enchanted Object), Anna McNeely (Townsperson, Enchanted Object), Burke Moses (Gaston), Bill Nabel (Townsperson, Enchanted Object), Wendy Oliver (Enchantress / Townsperson, Enchanted Object), Vince Pesce (Townsperson, Enchanted Object), Brian Press (Chip), Paige Price (Silly Girl / Townsperson, Enchanted Object), Kenny Raskin (Lefou), Sarah Solie Shannon (Silly Girl / Townsperson, Enchanted Object), Gordon Stanley (Monsieur D’Arque / Townsperson, Enchanted Object / Bookseller), David Ogden Stiers (Prologue Narrator / Recorded voice only), Linda Talcott (Silly Girl / Townsperson, Enchanted Object), Wysandria Woolsey (Townsperson, Enchanted Object)

Swings: Joan Barber, Kate Dowe, Gregory Garrison, Alisa Klein, Rob Lorey and Dan Mojica

Standby: Chuck Wagner (Beast)

Understudies: Harrison Beal (Lefou), Kate Dowe (Enchantress, Silly Girl, Doormat), David Elder (Beast), Merwin Foard (Gaston), Gregory Garrison (Young Prince), Kim Huber ( (Belle), Alisa Klein (Enchantress, Silly Girl), Rob Lorey (Monsieur D’Arque), Barbara Marineau (Mrs. Potts, Madame de la Grande Bouche), Joanne McHugh (Babette), Anna McNeely (Mrs. Potts, Madame de la Grande Bouche), Dan Mojica (Young Prince), Bill Nabel (Maurice, Cogsworth, Lumiere), Vince Pesce (Lefou), Paige Price (Belle), Sarah Solie Shannon (Babette), Gordon Stanley (Maurice, Cogsworth, Lumiere), Linda Talcott ( (Chip) and Chuck Wagner (Gaston)

Associate Lighting Design: Ted Mather; Assistant Lighting Design: Gregory Cohen; Projection Effects: Wendall K. Harrington; Principal Set Design Assistant: Brian Webb later replaced by: Edmund A. LeFevre, Jr.; Assistant to Mr. Meyer: Brigette Altenhaus, Bill Sturrock and Scott Shaffer; Automated Lighting Programmer: Aland Henderson; Assistant to the Director: Michael Gans; Assistant to Ms. Hould-Ward: Tracy Christensen, Markas Henry, Mark Musters and Fabio Toblini; Assistant to Mr. Lawrence: Linda Rice; Associate Costume Design: Tracy Christensen; and Assistant to the Costume Designer: David C. Paulin.

General Manager: Dodger Productions; Company Manager: Kim Sellon later replaced by: Mark Rozzano; Associate General Manager: Robert C. Strickstein and Assistant Company Manager: Mark Rozzano.

Production Supervisor: Jeremiah J. Harris; Production Stage Manager: James Harker later replaced by: John Brigleb;Technical Supervisor: Harris Production Services; Stage Manager: John M. Atherlay, Pat Sosnow and Kim Vernacelater replaced by: M. A. Howard and Jill Larmett; later Assistant Stage Manager: Ira Mont Assistant Production Supervisor: Beth Riedmann; Associate Production Supervisor: Tom Shane Bussey

Illusions by Jim Steinmeyer and John Gaughan; Pyrotechnic Design: Tyler Wymer; Audio Designer: Bill Platt; Fight direction by Rick Sordelet; later Fight Captain: Joseph Savant Dance Captain: Dan Mojica later replaced by: Carol Lee Meadows and Mindy Cooper; Dance Captain Supervisor: Bill Burns; Press Representative: Boneau / Bryan-Brown;later Press Associates: Jim Byk, Juliana Hannett and Amy Jacobs; Casting: Jay Binder; Marketing Consultant: Margery Singer; Production Assistant: Paul Michael and G. Eric Muratalla; Photographer: Joan Marcus and Marc Bryan-Brown; Special Events Photographer: T.L. Boston; Production Coordinator: Elisa Padula

Musical Coordinator: John Miller; Musical Supervisor: David Friedman; Conducted by Michael Kosarin; Music Preparation: Miller Music Services and Miller Music Services; Rehearsal Pianist: Brian Besterman; Concert Master: Belinda Whitney; Violin: Cenovia Cummins, Evan Johnson, George Wozniak and Jean “Rudy” Perrault; Cello:Caryl Paisner and  Joseph Kimura; Bass: Jeffrey Carney; Flute: Katherine Fink; Oboe: Vicki Bodner; Clarinet/Flute: KeriAnn Kathryn Di Bari; Flute/Clarinet: Alva Hunt; Bassoon: Marc Goldberg; Trumpet: Neil Balmand Tony Kadleck; French Horn: Jeffrey Lang, Anthony Cecere and Glen Estrin; Bass Trombone/Tuba: Paul Faulise; Drums: John Redsecker; Percussion: Joe Passaro; Harp: Stacey Shames; Keyboard: Kathy Sommer and Glen Kelly; Associate Conductor: Kathy Sommer; Assistant Conductor: Joe Pass